“Top Hospital” Three Out of Past Five Years by The Leapfrog Group

December 4, 2014 6:17 pm
Collins, John

John Collins, MD

For our third out of five years, Mercy Health Saint Mary’s is awarded the Top Hospital designation, given to only 94 hospitals nationwide for demonstrating excellence in hospital safety and quality through the Leapfrog Hospital Survey, the Leapfrog Top Hospital award is given to less than seven percent of all eligible hospitals.

“Being named a Top Hospital three times in the past five years demonstrates that in everything we do, we keep the patient in mind,” said John Collins, MD, Chief Medical Officer, Mercy Health Saint Mary’s.

Mercy Health Saint Mary’s was one of 94 Top Hospitals recognized nationally. The list includes:
• 24 Top Rural Hospitals
• 61 Top Urban Hospitals
• Nine Top Children’s Hospitals

The selection is based on the results of The Leapfrog Group’s annual hospital survey, which measures hospitals’ performance on patient safety and quality, focusing on three critical areas of hospital care: how patients fare, resource use and management structures established to prevent errors. Performance across many areas of hospital care is considered in establishing the qualifications for the award, including rates for high-risk procedures and a hospital’s ability to prevent medication errors.
The Top Hospital award is not given to a set number of hospitals, but rather, to all urban, rural and children’s hospitals that meet the high standards defined in each year’s Top Hospitals Methodology.

To see the full list of institutions honored as a 2014 Top Hospital, please visit www.leapfroggroup.org/tophospitals.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>